Ballroom Dance!!!!

Hi everyone! I have not posted in SO long. Man, I’ve missed blogging. School’s been insanely hectic, and there are many new things going on in my life that I have been dying to share with you guys!

I’ve been getting more serious with ballroom dance after quitting diving. I’m currently attending a month-long cha-cha group class every Monday. I also take salsa classes every Friday night. Both are going very well, my gymnastics background helps me pick up ballroom dance very quickly. Yesterday, I took my first private lesson from a professional ballroom dancer, Natasha. Natasha is a world champion ballroom dancer specializing in latin dance. Taking a lesson from her was truly a great experience.

She taught me a couple of dance styles: samba and cha-cha. I picked up the steps very quickly, and she asked if I had former dance experience. I told her I was a gymnast for ten years, which explains my good coordination and body kinesthetics. I told Natasha that I really wanted to do ballroom competitively, and Natasha said I have great potential. I expressed my concern over my age, since I assumed starting anything competitively at sixteen is too late, but Natasha said I’m a “baby” in the ballroom world 🙂 She told me about a ten time German world champion ballroom dancer, Carmen, who started dancing at age 18. Obviously, Carmen had to work very hard for such achievements, but this still gave me a lot of hope. Natasha said I radiate the passion for dance, and my personality is like that of a “party girl”. She concluded that my body, dance style and personality are suited for latin dance, rather than international standard. This surprised me initially, since latin is known as a “sexy” style of dance, and I’m generally shy around people, but I guess when I dance I’m able to break out of my shell and let loose. I gained more confidence in my ability to dance latin when, after the lesson, I went to a store to buy ballroom dance shoes. The lady running the store is a professional ballroom dancer. She told me that as I was testing out the shoes on the hardwood floor, she could immediately tell that I was a latin dancer.

Tomorrow I have a 45 minute private with Natasha, which I am SUPER excited about! I love ballroom dance so much. After getting injured and not being able to do rhythmic gymnastics, I felt completely lost, as I didn’t know who I was or what I would do without gymnastics. Now, with ballroom, I feel that I have found something that fills the void that losing gymnastics has left in me. While nothing can replace gymnastics, I’m really looking forward to creating new memories and venturing down a new path with ballroom.

Leave a Reply

