Blogmas Days 11 and 12: Sickness Galore!

Hey guys, sorry I didn’t post yesterday (Wednesday 12/28/16). I was feeling feverish and really out of it by the time my family and I got home from a hot pot dinner party, so I went straight to bed after changing into my pj’s.

Yesterday was an eventful day. At 11:30 a.m., my two brothers and I had lunch at Amici’s, an Italian restaurant, with a childhood friend, Warren. We were all so used to the college eating schedule, so we were in and out of the restaurant in 45 minutes! In retrospect, speeding through a “catching-up” meal like that kind of defeats the purpose of the long-awaited reunion, but you’d be surprised at how much you can fit into a 45 minute conversation should you surpass the small talk and get right to the nitty-gritty. I’ve always wondered why it is socially implied to make small talk with people you just meet, instead of going straight for the real talk. I personally never enjoyed dabbling on the surface with cliché questions about the weather, the traffic, etc. Yet I still find myself doing it from time to time, mostly when I’m at a loss of interesting things to discuss. I guess that’s one purpose of small talk– filling in awkward silences. But then again, why must silences be uncomfortable? Why can’t we be OKAY with simply, being?

Excuse my little small talk digression. Just a thought I wanted to get out. It’s currently 4:34 p.m. as I’m writing this post. Today was pretty miserable. I pretty much stayed in bed the entire day, plagued with fever, cold sweats and non-stop coughing. I’m totally reminded of the period of sickness I endured at UCLA, except now I’m home on break, with my mom here to make me hot soup and tea with honey and lemon. Earlier today, the entire family was scheduled to have dim sum with one of my dad’s old high school classmates and his wife. I decided to forgo the lunch, however, since I was still feeling really sick. Last night was rough. Slept first thing when we got back from the dinner party. Woke up at 3:00 a.m. and couldn’t fall back asleep. Basically just tossed and turned until morning came. My room is a total war zone. The blankets are kicked off the bed and I have cups and bowls strewn every which way.

So, back to yesterday (I apologize about the complete lack of organization of this blog piece. Parallels the current state of my room, I guess). After the lunch of Caesar salad and New York Cheese Pizza, my bro’s and I made a quick Nob Hill run, where we bought almond milk. When we got home, I went back to bed. I slept until 4:30 p.m., when Chris woke me up, telling me to get ready for that night’s dinner party. We were invited to the Espiritu’s home for a hot-pot dinner. Dr. Espiritu is our family’s dentist. Auntie Maria is his wife, and they have two kids– Kyle and Kaitlyn, both in high school. We go WAY back with all of them, but we haven’t seen each other in years, after the busyness of life carried us our own directions. Thankfully, yesterday, we had the chance to catch up on lost time! I really did enjoy myself at the party. Dinner was amazing, courtesy of Auntie Maria’s incredible efforts. I absolutely adore the family dog, a Chihuahua and Poodle mix. Her name is “Sexy” and she is the friendliest (and might I add, sexiest) dog ever! The party went on till past midnight, as the adults had a lot to talk about, with their children all grown up. Towards the end of the night, I was feeling really sick again, so I took a nap on the family room sofa. All-in-all, though, I had a great night with old family friends!

Fast-forward to today. As I mentioned already, I stayed in bed the whole day, with the exception of getting up to go to the bathroom, drink hot soup, and take a shower (I couldn’t stand the sticky feeling of sweat all over my body). Watched some Fuller House. Did some social media dives. Listened to a TED Talk podcast. I dream of giving a TED talk one day. You know, once I’m cool enough to actually give one. And when I overcome my fear of public speaking. Next quarter at UCLA, I’d really like to join Bruin Toastmasters or something to get me up and speaking. I’m a lot better than I used to be, but I still get pretty nervous when I have to give a presentation or something like that. I have faith that with time and practice and the courage to fail, I will be able to overcome this!

Okay, friends. Sorry this post wasn’t more interesting, haha. If I don’t post tomorrow, it’ll be because I’m recovering. But hopefully I will be better before the New Year! Speaking of which, I’m currently writing a piece for the Daily Bruin on the psychology of New Year’s Resolutions. I’ll share with you guys my outlook on the whole tradition of resolutions in a later post. For now, here are some links to articles on New Year’s Resolutions that I stumbled upon during my research:

http://www.apa.org/helpcenter/resolution.aspx

https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/wired-success/201512/6-reasons-you-probably-wont-achieve-your-resolutions

http://www.statisticbrain.com/new-years-resolution-statistics/

I hope these articles are able to give you guys some guidance on how to set more effective and realistic resolutions, thus boosting your chances of sticking to them!

3 Gratitudes:

  • my mom to take care of me when I’m sick!
  • my grandma, who makes the best anti-cough soup ever!
  • the Espiritu family for being so fun and loyal all these years

 

2017, BOY ARE WE READY FOR YOU!

 

-Belicia

 

Leave a Reply

