Thank You to My Readers!!!

Hi guys,

I want to dedicate this post to all of you who are reading this right now. Thank you, thank you, thank you, from the bottom of my heart, for taking time out of your day to read my blog.

I started the blog during my junior year of high school. At its inception, the blog was merely a way for me to mourn the loss of my life and identity as a gymnast, after a career-ending injury took me out of the sport I loved.

Before I knew it, the blog took on a life of its own. Little did I know how many people actually cared about what I wrote, and how much they could relate to my own joys and struggles. I am always humbled when I receive a message from a friend, classmate, or even someone I’ve never personally met, telling me how much my story resonated with them.

The thing is, I write from the rawness of my soul. This blog is composed of nothing but brutal honesty, clarity and self-reflection. This is me. It is the story of a young woman trying to find her way in this vast universe, whilst staying as true to her heart as possible.

I used to write only for me. Now, I still write for myself, but I also write for others. For you guys.

Through writing, I’ve gained a voice. I feel more empowered than I ever have in my life.

But I could never have found my voice without you guys. Without your guys’ endless support, I could never have understood how a mere individual like me could possibly make any imprint in the world. This blog is not just about me. It’s about all of us. It is an homage to everyone’s struggle to hear their quiet inner voices over the noise of external forces. It is an ode to Life– the human condition of creating individual meaning in an inherently meaningless world. It is about the beauty of personal growth and the incredible capacity to stretch ourselves beyond any and all preconceived limitations.

I don’t believe I am special. I am simply a woman enduring, like the rest of us, and learning to appreciate the little moments that give life its greatest meaning.

So thank you all, many times over. I love you and wish you the best in your individual life journeys. It is a gift to be alive each day, and it is the realization of life’s fragility that keeps me grateful for each moment I have with the people I love.

Expect lots more blog posts to come! This summer will be a very busy one, indeed. I will keep you all updated with my journey of self-discovery, for I am still finding myself. Whether or not dance truly is my calling remains to be seen. These next 7 months are a trial period. I will immerse myself in the dancer’s life, training and coaching and competing, and see if such a career is for me. If not, UCLA is always waiting for me, and I will continue my search. I refuse to settle until I’ve found my “Why”. And I am so grateful that I have the opportunity for such exploration– not everyone does.

 

 

Love,

Belicia

Leave a Reply

